The High Cost of Poor Eating

25 09 2013

Cheap FoodAh…junk!  Cheap carbs and sweets.  Such a treat for the palate.  They go down the gullet with ease and feel so good.  You can’t stop with just one (and you thought it was only certain potato chips).  And the best part?  They’re so inexpensive, compared to other foods.

Really?

You need to rethink this and do the math.

Highly processed foods, cheap carbs, sweets, are all placed at eye level, center aisles, and checkout counters at discount stores for a reason.  Companies make a lot of money on sheer sales volume of such “foods.”  And for good reason.  They’re inexpensive, so we buy more and feel great about it, having saved so much money on such tasty items.  What a bargain.

Here’s some hidden costs to cheap food you may not know about:

  • A diet high in cheap carbohydrates increases your appetite.  Therefore, you buy and eat more.
  • A diet high in cheap carbs also leaves you feeling stuffed and your thinking foggy.
  • You will pack on the pounds quickly because cheap carbs are treated like sugar which inhibits your body from burning fat.
  • Sodium and sugar = water retention = added weight.
  • A lot of ingredients in these “foods” are unnatural—hybrids created in the lab which the body has a hard time processing.  High fructose corn syrup, for example, is everywhere and not particularly good for you.
  • The added weight brings a host of physical and psychological problems with them—increased risk of heart disease, diabetes, hypertension as well as “I feel so fat and can’t fit into my clothes.  This too costs money over the long haul.  More visits to the doctor and psychotherapist often result.

Disclaimer:  I am neither a physician nor a nutritionist.  These are reflections from my own journey.

I’ve lost nearly thirty pounds over the last six months or so and kept them off by changing some things around.  Instead of cheap food, I’m eating stuff “closer to the ground” and touched by as few processes as possible—fruits, vegetables, lean meats, nuts, fish, etc.

I’m no different than you.  I’m undisciplined in all sorts of areas and I love junk.  Ice cream, candy bars, pizza, pasta, chips, cheese puffs (ate with a fork so I don’t get cheese on my paws), etc.  I love it all.  But it comes at a price.

Here’s where I’ve benefited:

  • I’m lighter and fit into my clothes.  Thus I feel better physically and sharper mentally.
  • Gone are the blood sugar spikes and drops that make me feel cranky mid-morning.  Type 2 Diabetes, I’m told, can in some cases be reversed by a change in diet and lifestyle.
  • I eat less because I’m not as hungry.

There’s no such thing as cheap food, really.  You end up paying one way or another, one day or another.  Have you ever noticed that the discount stores place the cheap and unhealthy items front and center, while the good stuff is on the periphery.  It’s basic marketing.  It’s calculated.  And it works.

You deserve better.  Make the change and see if you’re not pleased with the results.

Image Credit

Actions

Information

8 responses

23 11 2013
Judy

Thanks for your marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you could be a great author.
I wilol be sure to bookmark your blog and may come back sometime soon.
I want to encourage you to ultimately continbue your great work, have a nice holiday
weekend!

25 11 2013
Christian Fahey

Thank you for the encouragement and for stopping by, Judy!!

24 11 2013
get more twitter followers for free

Hurrah, that’s what I was looking for, what a stuff!
existing here at this weblog, thanks admin of this web page.

25 11 2013
Christian Fahey

Thank you for stopping by!!

19 01 2014
instagram Followers tracker apk

I have fun with, cause I discovered just what Iwas having a loopk for.
You’ve ended my 4 day long hunt!God Bless you man. Have a
great day. Bye

25 01 2014
my diy shed plans

I quite like reading an article that will make people think.
Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

17 03 2014
livejasmin Free account with credit

Everything is very open with a precise explanation of the issues.

It wwas really informative. Your site is very useful. Thanks for sharing!

22 04 2014
Christian Fahey

Thank you Cynthia!

Leave a Reply

