28 09 2012

My good friend Tom Brennan wrote this moving piece about the unsung heroes among us. Enjoy!

Whatsoever Things Are True

In the Greek Pantheon, there are some names that command attention.  After all, they are deities, so it is natural to notice them.  I was a lover of Greek Mythology as a child.  I sat and read  D’Aulaires’ Book of Greek Myths by the hour.  The illustrations were exquisite, and the stories fascinating.  I was later to learn that I was not alone in my fondness for these stories, I found that much of our culture references the stories of Zeus, Apollo, Aphrodite, and Athena.  I found that my knowledge of Icarus, the Minotaur and Hercules was to greatly impact my ability to understand a huge portion of Western literature, and that such literacy gave me the privilege of attaining at least a semi-classical education.  I have been able to fake the rest with the help of Looney Tunes Opera parodies and a musical Hamlet on Gilligan’s Island.  So now you…

View original post 1,209 more words

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

