Rainy Days

26 07 2012

“I went to bed and woke in the middle of the night thinking I heard someone cry, thinking I myself was weeping, and I felt my face and it was dry.

Then I looked at the window and thought: Why, yes, it’s just the rain, the rain, always the rain, and turned over, sadder still, and fumbled about for my dripping sleep and tried to slip it back on.”

–Ray Bradbury

It finally rained today.  After about a month and a half.  Not a drizzle or a teaser.  But a slow, lingering, chronic, soaking rain.  The kind that gives the ground a drink and the bees the day off.

Rainy days undoubtedly give off a different ambiance.  One of shade, reflection and slowing of pace.  Rainy days are fine days for thinking, reading, slowing down and soaking in—just like the ground.

Sometimes it takes a drought for us to appreciate the importance of rainfall.  Or, for that matter, a generous amount of snowfall in winter.  It all helps the vegetation and the water table.  And water is a necessity, not a luxury.

So here’s to rainy days.  They don’t necessarily have to get you down.

Image Credit

Actions

Information

4 responses

26 07 2012
Jennifer Stuart

Since moving to Texas, I understand this all too well. Rain is completely different now to me than it was in Connecticut or Massachusetts. And, Ray Bradbury. Yes.

28 07 2012
Christian Fahey

Thanks so much for stopping by Jennifer. I imagine you understand the importance of rain acutely now that you live in Texas. So very important!

26 07 2012
David Kanigan

Here, here. Here’s to rainy days…great post Christian.

28 07 2012
Christian Fahey

Thanks so much David. Very thankful to get even one full day of rain!

Leave a Reply

