Vying For A Place With Vai

25 02 2012

In a month I will be playing guitars in the pit band for a local production of the musical “Little Shop of Horrors.”  It is a comedy with music and lyrics written by the Grammy Award winning team of Alan Menken and Howard Ashman.  Musically it is a combination of Sha-Na-Na meets Billy Joel meets Funk-A-Delic meets The Knack.  It is a hilarious story.

Playing in these shows is always a challenge.  I read music and that has helped me get these roles, which are a privilege.  I get to work with outstanding musicians.

Today I spent hours going through the score—a piano reduction—and the guitar lead sheets, learning parts and rhythms.  It puts one through the paces to be sure.

This music is challenging and multi-faceted.   Most Broadway music is.  It calls for focus and discipline, something I have to work at every day.  As I read through the musical today, I thought a lot about guitarist Steve Vai and his unbelievable work ethic regarding his art.

Steve used to divide his days up into twelve hours for guitar practice.  He may still be doing so.  Three hours for scales and modes, three hours for other things, and so forth.  If you’ve ever seen or heard Steve play, he is an extreme guitarist.  He does things most guitarists wouldn’t dare attempt.  His chops are precise, fluid and varied.  His execution of musical passages flawless.  His tones exotic, to say the least.

Vai’s genius, like Mozart and Tiger Woods, is rooted in deliberate practice.  Focus.  Distractions eliminated strategically.

He’s a graduate of the Berklee School of Music, so he knows music.  When he was breaking into the business over thirty years ago, he would transcribe the music and guitar solos of Frank Zappa—a musical genius in his own right.  And these transcriptions, of all parts in the songs, were written not as tablature (tabs) but as music proper.  That is an incredible feat in itself.  He eventually gave them to Zappa and worked with him.  The video below shows Steve playing and sharing about focus and practice.

Once again we are reminded that the key to mastery of any thing to which we aspire is time, focus and discipline.  Christopher Parkening, classical guitar virtuoso, once said, “You will always pay the full price for excellence.  It is never discounted.”

What things are you good and gifted at?  What kinds of changes can you make in their practice to take your skills to the level of virtuosity?  Are you up to the challenge?

I bet you are.

Image Credit

Actions

Information

4 responses

25 02 2012
Mark Mathia

Yes — what an awesome post. I love it. I am a huge fan of Little Shop of Horrors – best of luck bringing it to life. I have a theatre minor and am very thankful for the opportunity to learn about the stage and such. I have never heard of Steve Vai but his video was awesome. Best of luck in your show and know that I will be more intentional about my study of the guitar and living intentionally. I’m inspired.

25 02 2012
Christian Fahey

Thanks Mark!! Vai is incredible for sure. I remember hearing stories of him locking himself in his practice studio for something like 20 hours of work. Amazing. Thanks again for best wishes on the show. It will be a LOT of fun!

26 02 2012
Tony Gullo

Great post Christian. The combination of your writing along with Steve’s exhortation made for a very inspiring communication. I’ve had the pleasure of watching him play several times over the years and he has always been someone that I looked up to. His genius goes beyond the scope of music and touches the mystic.

Well done sir.

27 02 2012
Christian Fahey

Thank you, Tony. I had heard stories about Steve Vai in the mid 90’s but hadn’t really been acquainted with his music. When I started seeing him play, I was simply blown away. His dedication is both inspiring and convicting!

Leave a Reply

