Book In Hand

1 02 2012

I read all the time.  I usually have anywhere from 2 to 10 books going at any given moment.  Some I read from cover to cover. Others I skim through.  Still others I mine for pertinent information and then put away or return.   I rarely go anywhere without a book.  I’m always looking to learn something new.

Readers are leaders.  That’s a given.  Leaders tend to be readers as well.

What are you reading these days?  Who are some of your favorite authors?  What are the five best books you’ve read in the past 5 years?

I look forward to your responses!

Image Credit

Actions

Information

14 responses

1 02 2012
Susie

I’m on the last chapter of The Leader Who Had No Title by Robin Sharma as well as starting Entre-Leader by Dave Ramsey. I just finished “Off Balance” by Matthew Kelly and plan on starting money makeover by Dave Ramsey. 🙂

2 02 2012
Christian Fahey

“The Leader Who Had No Title?” Wow. That’s the Law of Influence. Cool Susie!

1 02 2012
suekenney

Haven’t read as much lately as I used to, or as much as I would like to. I’ve been dipping haphazardly into Ten Acres Enough by Edmund Morris; Joshua’s Spiritual Warfare: Understanding the Chiasms in Joshua by Thomas B. Clarke; Persuasion by Jane Austen; and various family writings that I inherited from my mom. My favorite authors? King David; Jane Austen; Timothy Zahn; C. S. Lewis. How’s that for eclectic?

2 02 2012
Christian Fahey

Wow, Sue, lots of good stuff. And eclectic indeed. The Clarke book looks especially fascinating. Very nice! Thanks for reading!

1 02 2012
Jason Reck

Reading the Hunger Games books right now. Eagerly anticipating the new Vince Flynn book in a week

2 02 2012
Christian Fahey

Hunger Games? Very nice, Jason. A LOT of people are digging that right now. Thanks!

2 02 2012
Mark Mathia

There are some titles I have not heart about. Awesome! Thanks for asking the question Christian! I really enjoyed Getting Naked by Patrick Lencioni and Tribes is one I re-read. On the more spiritual side I loved a book called, With Reimagining The Way You Relate To God by: Skye Jethani. Thanks again for asking.

2 02 2012
Christian Fahey

“Reimagining The Way You Relate To God” sounds really provocative, Mark. I shall have to check it out! Thanks for posting!

2 02 2012
mandala56

We’re having our Librarians Read Challenge at the moment, so I’m concentrating on J and YA material (not like I don’t all the time anyway!) just finished David Almond’s My Name is Mina (excellent) and reading some author biographies by Jon Sciezka, Jack Gantos, and others.
Sorry, too many to list over the last five years.. I’d have to get out my journal!
I’ve been poring over your shelf picture and I’m sure I see some that are on my shelves as well, but I need to get a closer look!

2 02 2012
Christian Fahey

A read challenge? That’s fantastic Mandala! Thanks for reading and commenting. BTW, the picture in the blog is not from my own library but is one I found online. I’ve a few ancient books but not quite that many!

2 02 2012
David Kanigan

Book is hand. Book in bag. Book in Ipad. I’m with your Christian…good post.

2 02 2012
Christian Fahey

Same here, David. Even in the bathtub, I’m not without a book. Can’t imagine it any other way. Great post on your own blog today, BTW. I will be mentioning it in my blog today and giving your own blog a plug. Stunned by the goal of really learning a thing and not simply being a dilettante or a poser. Great stuff–thanks for reading!

2 02 2012
David Kanigan

Thank you. I’m returning the favor (in parts). Stay tuned…Dave

2 02 2012
Christian Fahey

Thanks so much, Dave!

Leave a Reply

