Winning The Lottery

24 01 2012

A few years back, I sat in a church service and heard the speaker say, “If you were born here in America, you won the lottery.”  The speaker, a friend of mine, is a representative for a ministry that reaches out to the persecuted Church in nations hostile to Christianity.

It’s easy to develop a kind of myopia when living here in the United States is all you’ve known.  I know I tend to take for granted the blessings that come from living here.  As if the rest of the world lives like us.

But they don’t.

It’s been estimated that living in the US puts us within the top 7% of the wealthiest people on earth.  For most on our planet, every day is a struggle to keep warm, find food, stay alive and find meaning in it all. 9 out of 10 people in our world don’t live like us.  We are so graced.

So today, I am thankful to be an American citizen.  It’s given me far more opportunities than most will ever have.  My house is warm, I have food, I have a job that pays well.  And I can make the most of my life as I choose to exert effort.

Remember this when you have a bad day, when the country is in a downturn, when things are tight and there’s not discretionary income for fun things.  We live in a land of opportunity and it’s still the best there is!

Image Credit

Actions

Information

4 responses

24 01 2012
Eric Alagan

It is great to acknowledge what we take for granted.

I am also thankful to be a Singapore citizen – we live in a clean and green city state, it is so safe that women can walk out at anytime of the night and we have one the lowest per capita crime rates in the world! Oh yeah, we also have money…

24 01 2012
Christian Fahey

Wow, Eric, that’s amazing. Unfortunately we can’t say that about our city streets. It must be nice to be able to abide safely in Singapore

24 01 2012
mooney

true that! sometimes I find myself whining about having to drive a few miles to buy drinking water, then I am reminded that every day millions walk that far for dirty water.

24 01 2012
Christian Fahey

It really has a way of putting things into perspective for sure Moon. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

