Ten Years Gone

1 01 2012

I was reunited with an old friend a few days ago.  I’d forgotten what good times we’d had.  It was a reconciliation of sorts.

About 10 years ago, I bought the guitar pictured above.  Hamer Sunburst Arch Top.  Twin humbucking pickups (Seymour Duncan for you guitar geeks out there).  Tune-O-Matic bridge.  Plays a lot like a Les Paul.

I sold it to one of my guitar students 8 or 9 years ago.  He eventually sold it to another of my guitar students.  And he sold it back to me a few nights ago.

Ah….redemption.

During her sojourn, she took a tumble and the varnish and fingerboard cracked a bit and the nut dislodged.  So when I got her home, I took her apart and did surgery.  I’ve had some training as a carpenter from the ‘90’s.  So I doctored her up with love and care. You can see her above in traction.

I completed the repairs today. She is shiny, intones nicely and plays very well.  Great action and neck access.  Warm tone for the jazz and show music I play and hot when I need to rock.

Kind of a picture of how God buys us back, fixes us, redeems us in Christ.  Broken and then whole.

So here we are together again.  Making music.

And yes….I’m playing “Ten Years Gone” in the picture.

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 01 2012
Eric Alagan

A craftsman of word, wood and music…gifted you are, indeed.
Happy New Year,
Eric :-0

1 01 2012
Christian Fahey

You’re very kind, Eric. I do love it (music, carpentry and blogging). Happy New Year to you as well!

Leave a Reply

