Going Forward

22 11 2011

I work in Information Technology.  As many of you know, IT is a rapidly advancing and highly competitive field that has the additional quality of regular innovation and improvement.  If, for example, you have iTunes, you know that this application is regularly updated.  You have to be on top of your game to keep pace with technology.

One of the things I learned early in my career in IT is the phrase “going forward.”  I’d see its use in memos and emails a lot.  It’s an intensely positive concept.  It is usually used in lieu of things like “from now on; starting now; in the future…” etc.

Life moves forward.  We’ve all sang some version of “If I Could Turn Back Time” at different removes in our lives.  If only I had done this or not done that.  Met this person.  Taken this job.  Moved to where I live.  Ad nauseum.

But I did.  Or I didn’t.  And you can’t turn back the clock.  And if you or I swim in regret, we will drown.  Water under the bridge.  It’s past.

Jesus once said, “No one who puts his hand to the plow and looks back is fit for the kingdom of God.”  You know that driving your car looking backward will get you into a wreck eventually.  A team of horses or a tractor moves slower than a car, but if you’re plowing a field, you rows will be crooked and you’ll eventually end up in a ditch.

You can only look forward.  And go forward.

My wife and I remind ourselves of this with the phrase “upward and outward” with respect to our thinking and attitude.  Inward and backward looking—except for times of self-evaluation—is ultimately counterproductive.  You can’t go forward looking backward.

Life is what we make it.  We can go nowhere looking back.  We can only look ahead.  And move ahead.

Because the best days are right ahead of you!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

